Black Skin

Sometimes I wish the Black would

Rub right off my skin. I wish that my kinky

hair would lay flat on my head like an

obedient child, that the world would accept me.

Those days I hide in too big clothes that

Hide the folds of my body, wrap my hair

Under hoods as I am unable to find the

Strength to look anyone in the eye. I cannot

live like this. I know that now. And yet

I find myself apologizing for being me,

Squeezing my essence into a box that was

Never built for me just so others around me have

More room. I find myself longing to be larger than

Life while not knowing how to ask for that space.

Is it a lost cause? Am I?

Leave a Reply

