Stargazer

I point my eyes to the stars and

Clutch space within my grasp.

I am troubled.

Not because the planets

Thrown far beyond my reach tantalize

With twinkling light, not because I

Have no way to go and see these

Dark giants.

I am troubled in my dreams

Of them, the fantasy of touching stardust

With trembling fingers so clear in my

Mind that I wake to find myself

weeping.

I am lonely in my wish to kiss burning balls of

Gas that die millions of light years away

With only their ghosts left

for me to find amidst the deep blue blanket

of sky.

Their souls cry out in the final throws

Of collapsing, seeking rest, yet my eyes are too

Fragile to behold them in their glory, my hands too

human to save the last remnants of

divinity.

Leave a Reply

