Puppies: A Girl’s Best Friend

Do you ever have that feeling of waking up and finally (finally) feeling comfortable in your own skin? I think I have officially hit that point.

Not to say that I don’t have my moments. I still find myself awkwardly smiling at people when I work college basketball games, still accidentally run into people and berate myself for an hour. But I think I’ve come to the realization just how amazing it is just being me
, and I find peace in that. I say all this at the beginning of this month because technically, it’s National Women’s History Month! Not to say I’ve done anything close to being up to par with the women who are honored in these few weeks, but I like to think that every girl’s story is important. If you have a special woman in your life (mom, sister, grandmother, etc..) let them know how much they mean to you.

Another thing to bring up is that it’s also MS Awareness Month, MS being Multiple Sclerosis. It’s basically a chronic disease in which the immune system attacks the casing around the nerves in the brain and spinal cord, affecting things like vision and balance for example. There’s no cure as of yet, but the more people know about the illness, the more research we can get, so spread the word!

The sun has come back to Long Beach finally, and from the looks of it, it might be here to stay. My friends and I ran to the beach this weekend as soon as classes were over to celebrate, getting down on our knees to build sandcastles while little kids watched us fail. It was fun to be carefree for a time, the sun soaking into our skin, the sound of water hitting the sand, cool breezes cruising through our hair. Perfect.

Then reality hit, and I had to work this whole weekend. I wouldn’t be so frustrated with working if I didn’t have to commute to it, but money makes the world go round and without it, my world stops. Or at least slows.

Anyway, I need the money for my study abroad trip this fall, a program where I’ll be spending four months on a cruise ship taking classes and traveling to different countries. It’s pretty amazing, but it’s also expensive. And since Bernie Sanders isn’t our president, there’ll be no help from the government. Still, my thinking is if I’m already in debt, I might as well get good memories out of college to look back on when I’m poor. I’ll probably use loans for most of it, but I still need a plane ticket to the ship in Germany, hence my saving. unfortunately, I’ve got other things I have to take care of that always takes from my money hoard. For example, I have to scrounge up money to get my dog Tucker fixed and licensed because apparently, that’s what you’re supposed to do. As a kid, I had no idea that had to be done together, and since this is my first dog by myself, I’ve been having surprise after surprise.

First, I had thought Tucker was a boy. Seeing a couple selling puppies outside of Wal-Mart last April, my mom told me I could only have a girl as we had two boy dogs at home. The couple had sold their last girl five minutes before we came out of the store, and was willing to go down on price if IIMG_2916 took a boy. That’s how I ended up with a little boy puppy that I named Tucker.

After taking her to the vet to get her shots, everyone holding her, and two weeks later, my sister brought up that he might actually be a she. Taking her back to the vet for a round of shots and asking him to check proved it-my Tucker was a girl.

Now before you judge me, just know I have a reasonable explanation. The last time I ever saw a girl dog, let alone cared for one, was a german shepherd I had when I was eleven. it had been a long while.

As soon as we caught the error, my family went to work trying to rename her. My sister and mother tried calling her Princess, using treats and toys, but it didn’t stick. Tucker was officially Tucker, no way of getting around it.

The second surprise came when my puppy, a black little body with a hint of blond on her chest, suddenly turned into a full out white dog. Kid you not. If you saw a picture of the day I got her and her now instead of just the one I have, you’d wonder if it’s the same dog. I have no idea how it came about, to be honest.

And now I have to spend a hundred dollars on making her legal. It’s hard being a pet owner, especially when I spend a good time away from her and at school, but knowing she’s waiting for me on weekends cheers me up. If any of you have a pet you love, remember to spend time with them, show them love. They’ll always show that love right back.

Well, I guess that’s it for now. Remember the women and animals in life, and always be thankful for your health!

“The dog is a gentleman; I hope to go to his heaven, not man’s.”

Mark Twain 

Leave a Reply

